About the Author

Ladette Randolph

Photo by Tami Turnbull

Ladette Randolph is the author of four books: two novels: Haven's Wake and A Sandhills Ballad, the short story collection This is Not the Tropics, and the memoir Leaving the Pink House (forthcoming in fall 2014). In addition, she has edited four anthologies: A Different Plain, The Big Empty, and two volumes of the Ploughshares Solos Omnibus. She has published stories and essays in numerous literary journals. Currently the editor-in-chief of the journal Ploughshares and on the faculty at Emerson College, she was, for many years, an acquiring editor at University of Nebraska Press and prior to that the managing editor of Prairie Schooner. She is the recipient of a Nebraska Book Award, a Rona Jaffe grant, a Pushcart Prize, a Virginia Faulkner award, and has been reprinted in Best New American Voices. ... ( more )

Latest Reviews

  • 11 Sep 2014

    praise for None Found :
    “A tender memoir notable for its modest voice and delicate prose.”

  • 28 Mar 2013

    praise for Haven’s Wake :
    “ . . . Randolph thoughtfully contemplates individuality in a community of conformity, truth in a world of evasiveness, and honesty in a sea of hurt. With prose that vivifies the intricate patchwork of characters and captures the landscape’s simplicity, Haven’s Wake explores “the various attempts to explain the unexplainable,” including family, faith, and death.”

    —Katharine FronkBooklist